Skip to main content
Purdue University Fort Wayne Helmke Library

Health and Medical Resources: PubMed: Making It Work For You

Finding the Full Text

 

When using PubMed you must manually check the library's holdings using the E-Journal Finder located on the library homepage.  Type in the title of the journal and if Helmke Library has access a link will be provided. (You MUST use the full journal title found on the article citation, not the shortened PubMed form.)  If E-Journal Finder does not provide you with a link to the journal content you can still get access to the article through Document Delivery Services (DDS)

Search E-Journal Finder:

 

 

Document Delivery Services (DDS) is a free service offered only to students and faculty.  You can order books and journal articles through DDS for free.  Books can be picked up at the library's Service Desk and journal articles are delivered directly to your email account.  (Expect 24-48 hours for an article request and up to two weeks for books.)

Custom Filter for PubMed

The following code will create a full-text filter in PubMed that will show only materials that are owned by or are available free in PubMedCentral.

("loattrfree full text"[Filter]) OR "loproviniupufwlib"[Filter])

What is My NCBI?

My NCBI is a tool that retains user information and database preferences to provide customized services for many NCBI databases. It allows you to save searches, select display formats, filtering options, and set up automatic searches that are sent by e-mail. My NCBI users can save their citations (journal articles, books, meetings, patents and presentations) in My Bibliography and manage peer review article compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy. My NCBI includes additional features that allow for setting up preferences for displaying and filtering search results, highlighting search terms and setting LinkOut, Document Delivery Service and Outside Tool preferences.

To use My NCBI, your Web browser must accept cookies and allow pop-ups from NCBI Web pages.

Section Contents

PubMed Mobile

PubMed Mobile Website

Provides a simplified, mobile-friendly Web interface to access PubMed. PubMed contains millions of article citations from thousands of biomedical journals. Many citations include abstracts. 

www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/

PubMed for Handhelds

PubMed Handhelds

A Web site for searching MEDLINE® with the Web browser of any mobile device.

pubmedhh.nlm.nih.gov

Mobile PubMed (Apple)

iPhone with PubMed Mobile

Search PubMed for medical journal article by keywords and authors.

www.apple.com/webapps/searchtools/mobilepubmed.html

PubMed Mobile (Android)

PubMed Android

Search PubMed database with over 19 million citations for biomedical articles and life science journals 

https://market.android.com/details?id=com.bim.pubmed&hl=en